Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad….

….lizard?  ME!

About a month ago, I had my very first night terror.  If any of you have experienced one, you will understand where it gets it tag line.  I awoke screaming and jumped on my poor hubby, Mikey telling him about the ‘lizards’ that were on my night table.  After Mikey assured me that I was dreaming, I went to the bathroom and then return to bed.  Turned on the nightlight to show him where the lizards were…..I remember all of this.  Mostly I remember how terrifying it was…which brings me to the beginning of this blog…

So, when we got to the condo in Florida, I went through and opened all the drapes and windows to let in the amazing warm air.  I fought with the curtains in the spare room and finally won the battle..I thought.  That was until a big bad LIZARD jumped out of the curtains and onto the sliding door screen.  I started screaming like a fool, calling Mikey who was watching Trevor fish in the backyard….They obviously were not either hearing me or decided not to respond and I stood there, staring at this creature and trying to figure out what to do.  If I left the room and the lizard wasn’t there when I returned, there wasn’t any way that I would have stayed in the condo for fear he would appear at any moment…So, I had a conversation with Mr. Lizard.  “Now, little buddy…I’m going to slowly close the sliding glass door and please, PLEASE don’t jump on me while doing this, or I will seriously have a heart attack.  Don’t worry, I will go and get help and set you free…just don’t jump on me..OKAY?”  I ran downstairs, still shaking and Mikey and Trevor – hero’s that they are, came upstairs and set that critter free….end of story….I hope.  I do still scan the wall and ceilings when going into any room.

On to happier moments…..The Garsides first beach walk!

first-beach-walk-and-dinner-7

How happy is this boy???

first-beach-walk-and-dinner-4

As well as Jackson’s humans!  Ken & Ruthfirst-beach-walk-and-dinner-8

…this!

first-beach-walk-and-dinner-5

HIM!  He who introduced me to my wonderful life….first-beach-walk-and-dinner-13

16 years ago, Ken introduced me to my amazing husband.  Here’s how it unfolded..

…Dog walking…..And Mikey didn’t have a dog.

You see, we had a tight knit group of close friends.  We all met dog walking.  Ken & sometimes Ruthie (Maggie) Dave (Neuman), Thom (Shadow), Steve (Duncan), Suz & Trev (Gemma & Tali) Donna (Zoey) and I (Dakota) met every night after work  and every weekend at either Greenwood or Claremont Conseration parks to walk our dogs.  Oh, those were the days.  We had so much fun together.  Singing Christmas Carols in the pitch black dark while walking through Greenwood.  Listening to Ken curse out poor Maggie, as she always took off just before we were finished our walkies. Watching the stars.  Listening to the rushing brooks. Watching the puppies play in all their glory.  Taking pictures.  We are all STILL close friends, although now all our sweet pups are running up there together in what we hope is just as much freedom and fun.  OK..I digress…

One day, Ken said to me “Robz, there is this really, really nice guy at work.  I’d like to introduce you.  You would be perfect together”.  I was a little gun shy, so put Kenny off for a few weeks.  When I received a phone call…from KEN!  Now, Ken is a man of few words (unless he’s trying to recall Maggie) so getting a call from him must not be good.  I brace myself.  “Robz, I’m telling you…you need to meet my friend, Mike, from work.  He’s such a wonderful man and I can see the two of you would hit it off”.  After twenty minutes of Ken convincing me that he wouldn’t be on the market long, I agreed to meet him. But not on a date.  On a dog walk. That way, I could check him out without any stress.  He came, we met and the rest is history.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart, Ken Garside.  I love my life.

first-beach-walk-and-dinner

Friends…first-beach-walk-and-dinner-17

first-beach-walk-and-dinner-19Who always know when to draw a line in the sand…and never step over it.

first-beach-walk-and-dinner-21I’ll leave you with this….

images-2

Life Is Good…..

Leave a Reply

