Cape San Blas(t)…we’re on our way!

And so it begins…….We’re off to an early and good start…But first, let’s back up here for a moment….

New Years Eve…we’re in bed by 6:30, (that’s PM for all you party animals) watched a bit of the tube willing ourselves to be tired enough to get to sleep early in anticipation of our 3:am alarm. So, we turned off our phones (all of you who so graciously text those expoloding and loud “HAPPY NEW YEAR” fireworks, thank you…we got them this morning. I did hold back in responding..at 3am…), closed our eyes and viola…we fell asleep around 9:00PM. For those that know me, that’s my regular time..ynuk, ynuk.

3:am…up and at ‘em and out the door by 4:10am..now for coffee (you knew there was going to be a story, didn’t you?). We pull into our favourite Timmies and..it’s closed. After all, it is New Years Day and who would be out on the road at 4:am looking for coffee?  Glad you asked..let me tell you. DRUNKS and Snowbirds. As panic sets in, we reluctantly opt for McDonald’s…hence the drunks…lots of them. REALLY drunk. Some passed out and drooling on the tables, some making out with one another forgetting they are in a public place and others failing at making their lips move with sound coming out to place their order. So, back in the car and head to the drive through.  Now, there is a milk carton blocking the way into the drive through lane. As there are cars ahead of us, we simply drive around it (OK, we need a coffee already!) when this little snot nosed, pimple faced employee who looked no more than 40 comes up to our car and starts to shout at us. HELLooooo…you really shouldn’t mess with me at 4:30am when I haven’t had my coffee. So after I politely told him to have a Happy New Year, I proceeded to, as my dear Mother-In-Law (Bless her soul) used to say…”Tell Him His Fortune”. After all, doesn’t he know that I’m (almost) a senior? Where is the respect? I’m not drunk; I just want a coffee!  I ended the diatribe with a civil “Smarten Up”…(not really the choice of words that first came to mind, but after all I am a grown up-sometimes) .  However, they just refused to serve us. Thinking back, it was most likley for the best..as my snot nosed kid sits in that tiny room where they take your money  would most likely have done something nasty to our java. We we’re at the end of a 4 car line up waiting and waiting to order (the very bright OPEN 24 hours sign was blinding) and it just wasn’t going to happen. So, I got out of the truck at which point the kid ran back to his little room with head headphones), moved the milk carton and Mikey backed up. It was decided at that point that we would wait until Cambridge OnRoute and hope to heck the Timmies was open…and it was…..AHHHHHH, all is right with the world. Onward and upward!

The weather is perfect!  The sunrise, beautiful….

img_0986

Unfortunately, it looked like Snots the dog from Christmas Vacation was traveling with us.

Crossed the border without incident at 8:15am. Nice border guy drilled us about, amongst other things, Brody’s food. What are the ingredients? Really? Um..it’s Pacifica made by Acana in Canada. Not good enough..”Lady, I don’t care who makes it or where it’s made, I need to know what the ingredients are”!  Okay… “SALMON!  You know those big fishies that swim upstream?  I believe what’s in the bag comes from Vancouver. But they also are found in Pickering….swimming upstream.  Some don’t make it. They die and my dog rolls in them on our hikes”.  At which point, I did see one side of his mouth start to curl into what I hoped was a smile. He really wasn’t being hard to get along with, I think he just thought I was a few cards short of a deck… or a smart @ss.  wink, wink.

img_0234

img_8929

On to the great United States of America! ( I’m holding back all Trump jokes out of respect for my American friends.) The sun is shining. There are no big trucks hogging the lanes. The construction didn’t even bother us in Ohio.  All those out partying the night before are still sleeping…

Did I tell you we have the BEST traveling fur baby?  Well, let me then.  All except his potty rituals…They just don’t happen.  There is that.  First of all, he thinks his harness/seat belt is a punishment.  His sad little droopy eye tugs at my heart.  AND HE WON’T PEE…nope, we stop every two hours and this boy refuses to pee or anything else.  Last year, we were freaked about this..this year, we try and then give in.  When we finally arrive at Country Inn and Suites, he obviously remembers and empties the very large tank….for about 60 seconds.

img_9270

We arrived at   Country Inn and Suites around 2:30 in the afternoon.  They are pet friendly and we luck out and get the same room as last year!  Brody is happy.  He remembers.  And so, we are happy… Until I spilled the RED WINE…

img_5287

….all over the carpet and night stand.  After about 1/2 an hour, I was able to get the wine out of the carpet and enjoy a glass…or two!

Brody, guarding our room

img_0741

Ater Mikey’s quick snooze (I had mine in the car) we headed out to one of our favorite restaurants in the U.S.  Cracker Barrel…Oh my…BEST fried chicken in Kentucky…hmmmm….Kentucky Fried Chicken..no you don’t hold a candle stick to the Crackle Barrel…SO much food we have leftovers for lunch and maybe dinner tomorrow!

Who remembers these???  What was your best?  We got down to 2…

img_6778

It’s been a long day…so I’ll leave you with this…

299262

Life Is Good….

2 thoughts on “Cape San Blas(t)…we’re on our way!

  1. Ahaha, love it! Mecca won’t pee until we unleash her (terrifying in those rest areas). We spilled red wine all over the carpet at the candlewood suites too… And our resto goto on the road is Olive Garden to go (ordered the day before)! Good Stanley thermos of coffee for the road… See you soon mon ami! De Angelis pack

    Like

Leave a Reply

